Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Announcements

Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents: Deadline extended until 25 October 2019

Wednesday, 16 October 2019  
Share |

Call for Entries: Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents (SDAY)

Deadline extended until 17h00 on 25 October 2019


In 2017, Cape Town was accepted as a member of UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network (UCCN):


Cape Town, as a City of Design, works closely with cities in the network to share ideas, challenges and successes related to the use of design in building sustainable and resilient cities.


The Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents (SDAY) is an international professional competition for young designers under the age of 35 (or, in the case of Architectural Design, under 40) who are from the 180 UNESCO Creative Cities worldwide.

The SDAY is administered by the Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Office, organised by the Shenzhen City of Design Promotion Association (SDPA), and co-organised by the UNESCO Creative Cities Network.
The official website for this award is:


The City of Shenzhen (also a City of Design) has issued this Call for Entries to young designers wishing to be considered for a Shenzhen Design Award.


The details of this Award are:

The theme for the 2019 Award is “Inclusive Design”


Professional designers or teams, and design students from Cape Town, can submit projects in the following categories:

Communications: brand & identity, packaging design, publications, typography, posters, illustrations, information visualisation

Interactive media: interactive design, website UI design, PC and mobile UX design, animation design, game & software design, motion picture and television design

Spatial design: architectural design, landscape design, interior design, urban and public guiding design system

Fashion design: apparel, accessories, texture design, dying & knitting

Public service design and design thinking in public policy

Industrial design: automobile furniture, product design




The award targets Cape Town designers; between the ages of 18 and 35, or in the case of Architectural Design under 40, by December 31, 2019.


The award focuses on existing or completed projects, designs, work in existence responding to the theme of “Inclusive Design”



There is a two-stage selection process:


First stage – all entries considered by the Cape Town City of Design Steering Committee. Deadline for these entries is: 17h00 on 25 October 2019



The Awards include prize money in the following two categories:

Grand Award (1 winner): 1000,000 RMB (approx. R200,000)
Merit Award (10 winners): 30,000 RMB per winner (approx. R60,000)

New Star Award (10 winners): 20,000 RMB per winner (approx. R40,000)

Download the full call which outlines the requirements for submission as a PDF here.


more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Members

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal